Ron OJ Parson


Director, The Mountaintop

2019 Bio: Ron OJ Parson (Director/Resident Artist) hails from Buffalo, New York and is a graduate of

the The University of Michigan’s professional theatre program. He is a resident artist at Court Theatre, a company member at TimeLine Theatre, and the co-founder and former artistic director of Onyx Theatre.

Recent Directing credits include: To Catch A Fish, by Brett Neveu, Timeline Theatre; Fences, by August Wilson (Kansas City Rep); Skeleton Crew, by Dominique Morisseau (Northlight Theatre); 5 Guys Named Mo’, by Clark Peters (Court Theatre); East Texas Hot Links, byEugene Lee (Writers Theatre); (associate artist) Apt. 3A, Windy City Playhouse; Blues For An Alabama Sky, by Pearl Cleage (Court Theatre); Paradise Blue, by Dominique Morriseau (Timeline Theatre); Gem of the Ocean, by August Wilson (Court Theatre); Sunset Baby by Dominique Morisseau (Timeline Theatre); The Who & The What by Ayad Akhtar (Victory Gardens Theater); Seven Guitars by August Wilson, The Mountaintop by Katori Hall, and Waiting For Godot by Samuel Beckett (Court Theatre); Detroit 67 by Dominic Morisseau (Northlight Theatre); A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry.

Other Chicagoland theatres include: Black Ensemble Theatre, eta, Congo Square Theatre, Goodman Theatre, Writers Theatre (associate artist), Victory Gardens, Teatro Vista (associate artist), Chicago Dramatists, Urban Theatre Company, Steppenwolf Theatre, Chicago Theatre Company, and City Lit Theatre.

Regional theatres include: Kansas City Rep, Virginia Stage Company, Portland Stage, Studio Theatre, Studio Arena Theatre, Roundabout Theatre, Mechanic Theatre, Center Stage Baltimore, Actors Theatre of Louisville, Milwaukee Rep, St. Louis Black Rep, Pittsburgh Public Theatre, Pittsburgh Playwrights Theatre, Geva Theatre, Signature Theatre (NYC), Alliance Theatre, South Coast Rep, and Pasadena Playhouse.

He directed the world premiere of Palmer Park by Joanna McClelland Glass at the Stratford Shakespeare Festival in Ontario, Canada .

Ron is a proud member of AEA, SAG-AFTRA, and SDC.

Member of Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers, an Independent Labor Union